Request for Release of Dangerous Weapon

To: Davis County Sheriff’s Office Date: , 201
Forensic Services Unit Criminal Case No.
P.O. Box 618
Farmington, UT 84025

I I hereby request the Davis County Sheriff’s Office (“DCSO”) to release to me the following dangerous
weapon(s) currently in the custody of the DCSO:

Manufacturer Caliber Type Description Serial No.

Il. I am the true owner of the listed dangerous weapon(s).

1. I am not the person who committed the crime for which the dangerous weapon(s) was (were) seized for
evidence.

(\VA I acknowledge that it is my responsibility to provide legally acceptable documentation as evidence of my
ownership to the DCSO as a condition of the release of the dangerous weapon(s) to me. Such
documentation shall consist of a receipt, title, bill of sale, or other paper which clearly and adequately
describes the dangerous weapon(s) and my ownership.

V. I understand and agree that | must provide the required evidence of ownership to the DCSO and pick up the
dangerous weapon(s) from the DCSO. If I fail to do so, for whatever reason, within 90 days of the date of
this request, the DCSO may at its discretion, pursuant to Section 76-10-525, Utah Code, dispose of the
dangerous weapon(s) by destruction or other lawful means without further notice to me. (Statute is Stated
on Reverse Side)

VI. I am not a person restricted by Section 76-10-503, Utah Code, from possessing or owning a dangerous
weapon.

VII. I have read and understand the information and instructions on the reverse side of this request.

VIII. My personal information is as follows (print):

Full Name: Date of Birth / /
Street Address:
Driver’s License
Mail Address: Number:
Telephone: Home ( ) Cellular ( ) Work ( )

By signing or typing my name in the provided space, | verify that the above statements and information are true
and correct:

(Signature)

Carefully Read Instructions and Information on the Reverse Side
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Request for Release of Dangerous Weapon

Instructions and Information

l. The following information is required:

a. “Manufacturer” — State the Name of the Maker

b. “Caliber” — State the caliber if the Weapon is a Firearm

c. “Type” — State the Nature of the Weapon

d. “Description” — State Descriptive Details (Such as Color, Size, Blade Length, Etc.)
e. “Serial No.” — Must Match Number on the Weapon

1. By signing this request, you acknowledge that it is your responsibility to:

a. Contact the DCSO within 30 days of the date this request for confirmation that the DCSO will release the
weapon(s) to you and to schedule an appointment for the release which must be within 90 days of this
request.

b. Go to the DCSO at the appointed date and time to obtain the weapon. If unable to keep that appointment,
you must notify the DCSO in advance for a new appointment. If you fail to keep the original or any
rescheduled appointment, the DCSO may dispose of the weapon without further notice to you at the end
of the 90 days period.

c. Provide the DCSO the required and legally acceptable documented proof of ownership such as a receipt,
bill of sale, registration certificate, or other.

d. Provide to the DCSO the name of another person to whom you have transferred ownership if you are
legally restricted from possessing or owning the weapon. That person will have to provide legally
acceptable proof of ownership in order to receive the weapon.

Give written notice to the DCSO of any change in your telephone number(s) or address(es).
Show to the DCSO an official picture identification card, such as a current driver’s license.

g. Make special arrangements with the DCSO in advance for another person to pick up the released
weapon(s) if you are unable to do so personally. Those arrangements must be approved by the DCSO and
include adequate and acceptable information and documentation.

I1. You are restricted from possessing or owning a dangerous weapon (defined by statute as a firearm or other
weapons capable of causing death or serious bodily injury) if you are a “restricted person” under Section 76-
10-503, Utah Code. (Read that statute online at https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter10/76-10-S503.html
or at any public library)

V. Complete the request form in full, date and sign and deliver to :

Davis County Sheriff’s Office
Forensic Services Unit
800 West State Street

P.O. Box 618
Farmington, UT 84025

76-10-525 Disposition of Weapons after Use for Court Purposes:

All police departments and/or sheriff’s departments which have in their possession a weapon after it has been used for
court purposes shall determine the true owner of the weapon and return it to him; however, if unable to determine the true
owner of the weapon, or if the true owner is the person committing the crime for which the weapon was used as evidence,
the department shall confiscate it and it shall revert to that agency for their use and/or disposal as the head of the
department determines.
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