
 

   

 
Utah Law 1998 

Sexual Offenses Involving Children 

     Age of Child  Age of Perpetrator Offense 
 
Under 14 Years old 
 
Does not matter if 
consensual or not 

 
 
     N/A 

Rape of a child, 1st degree felony 
Sodomy on a child, 1st degree felony 
Object rape of a child, 1st degree felony 
Aggravated sexual abuse of a child, 1st degree felony 
(includes digital penetration) 
Sexual abuse of a child, 2nd degree felony 

 
14 to under 16 ( 14 
and 15) 
Years old 
Consensual conduct 

 
Less then 4 years 
older than the minor 
 
 
4 or more years older 
than minor 
 
 
7 or more years older 
than minor 

 
Unlawful sexual activity with a minor, Class B 
Misdemeanor (includes intercourse, sodomy, digital 
penetration, object penetration). 
 
Unlawful sexual activity with a minor, 3rd degree felony 
(includes intercourse, sodomy, digital penetration, object 
penetration). 
 
Sexual abuse of a minor, Class A misdemeanor 
(fondling, indecent liberties, etc.) 
 

 
16 or 17 years old 

 
10 or more years 
older than the minor 

 
Unlawful sexual conduct with a 16 or 17 year old,  
3rd degree felony (includes intercourse, digital 
penetration, object penetration, sodomy) 
 
 

Consensual 
Conduct 

 
14 years and older 
Does not consent 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
N/A 

 
Rape, 1st Degree Felony 
Object Rape, 1st Degree Felony 
Forcible Sodomy, 1st Degree Felony 
Forcible Sexual Abuse, 1st Degree Felony 
Aggravated Sexual Assault, 1st Degree Felony 
(During one of the above crimes or attempts to commit 
one of those crimes, the offender causes bodily injury, 
uses or threatens to use a dangerous weapon, threatens 
imminent death, kidnapping or serious bodily injury to 
anyone, or is aided or abetted by one or more persons).  

 
Prosecution Timetable for Child Sexual Abuse 

 
Time period/Date of 
acts being Prosecuted 

Statute of 
Limitations for  

felonies 

 
Statute of Limitations 

 
Statute of Limitations if 
Reporting was delayed for Misdemeanors 

    
1973 to May 9th, 1983 4 years after act 2 years after act No difference 

  
    4 years after act 

  
          2 years after act 

 
1 year after report but within 8 

years of the act 
May 10th, 1983 to April 

28th, 1991 
 
April 29th, 1991 to present 

     
    4 years after act 

         
         2 years after act 

 
           4 years after report 

This table is based on Utah Code Ann SS 76-1-302, -303.5 (as amended since enactment). 


	     Age of Child
	 Age of Perpetrator
	Offense
	Consensual Conduct
	Does consent
	Prosecution Timetable for Child Sexual Abuse




