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IN THE DAVIS COUNTY JUSTICE COURT 
STATE OF UTAH 

 
STATE OF UTAH   
vs. 
  
Name: ___________________________________
              
Date of Birth:  ___________________  
  
Docket: ________________________ 
 
Date: __________________________ 
 

 

NO INSURANCE 
OR 

NO PROOF OF INSURANCE 
NOTIFICATION OF ENHANCEMENT 

 
 
 
 

JUDGE: JERALD L. JENSEN 
ELEMENTS   

 
No Insurance 41-12a-302:  Any owner of a motor vehicle on which insurance is required who operates his or her 
vehicle or permits it to be operated on a highway in this state without insurance is guilty of a class B misdemeanor.  
Any other person who operates a motor vehicle upon a highway in Utah with the knowledge that the owner does not 
have insurance in effect for the motor vehicle is guilty of a class B misdemeanor, unless that person has insurance 
on a Utah-registered motor vehicle or its equivalent that covers the operation, by the person, of the motor vehicle in 
question. 
 

Note:  41-12a-301(5):  Owner's or operator's security is not required for any of the following:  (a) properly-
registered off-highway vehicles when operated on legally-designated roads or in a legally-designated 
manner; (b) off-highway implements of husbandry operated in a legally-designated manner; (c) electric-
assisted bicycles, motor-assisted scooters, and personal-motorized-mobility devices (as defined under 
Section 41-6a-102).   

 
No Proof of Insurance  41-12a-303.2(2)(a)(i):  A person operating a motor vehicle shall:  (A) have in the person's 
immediate possession evidence of owner's or operator's security for the motor vehicle the person is operating; and 
(B) display it upon demand of a peace officer.  41-12a-303.2(5):  A violation of this section is a class B misdemeanor. 
 

Note:  41-12a-303.2(2)(a)(ii):  A person is exempt from the requirements of Subsection (2)(a)(i) if the person 
is operating:  (A) a government-owned or leased motor vehicle; or (B) an employer-owned or leased motor 
vehicle and is driving it with the employer's permission.   
 

Note:  41-12a-303.2(3):  It is an affirmative defense to a charge under this section that the person had 
owner's or operator's security in effect for the vehicle the person was operating at the time of the person's 
citation or arrest.   

 
ENHANCEMENT / PENALTIES 

 
41-12a-302(1):  For a conviction of No Insurance or No Proof of Insurance, the fine shall be not less than:  (a) $400 
for a first offense; and (b) $1,000 for a second and subsequent offense within three years of a previous conviction or 
bail forfeiture.   
 
41-12a-604:  For a conviction of No Insurance or No Proof of Insurance, the defendant's operator's license shall be 
suspended by the Department of Public Safety. 
 
Minimum / Maximum Sentence 
Class B Misdemeanor:  0 days to 6 months jail; Amounts listed above to $1,000 fines and surcharges, plus interest 
 
I understand the foregoing Notification of Enhancement as explained here and as orally explained to me.    
 
_____________________________________ 
Defendant Signature 


