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1.0

2.0

3.0

4.0

PURPOSE

The purpose of this regulation is to preserve, promote and protect the public health,
safety and general welfare of residents and visitors in Davis County by establishing
minimum standards for the safe transportation and treatment of infectious waste.

SCOPE

This regulation is applicable to all incorporated and unincorporated areas of Davis
County.

AUTHORITY AND APPLICABLE LAWS

This regulation is adopted under the authority of the Davis County Board of Health in
accordance with Utah Code Annotated (UCA) Section 26A-1-121

The Davis County Board of Health hereby adopts by reference and incorporates herein
the following provisions of the UCA and the Utah Administrative Code (UAC), subject to
the additions, clarifications, exceptions, and modifications set forth in this regulation:
UCA: The Solid and Hazardous Waste Act as set forth in Title 19-6-101, et. seq.;
UAC:
Chapter R315-301 Solid Waste Authority, Definitions, and General Requirements;
Chapter R315-306 Incinerator Standards; and
Chapter R315-316 Infectious Waste Requirements

DEFINITIONS

4.1 DEPARTMENT: The Davis County Health Department.

4.2 INFECTIOUS WASTE COLLECTION VEHICLE: Any vehicle, tank, trailer, or
combination thereof, which provides commercial collection, transportation,
storage or disposal of infectious wastes.

43 INFECTIOUS WASTE MANAGEMENT FACILITY: A facility that renders infectious
waste non-infectious through an approved treatment or disposal method.

4.4  NUISANCE: Any condition or hazard or the source thereof, deleterious or
detrimental to the health, safety, or welfare of any Person or property.

4.5 OWNER: The Person or Persons who have primary financial and legal interest
in an Infectious Waste Management Facility.

4.6 PERSON: Any individual, firm, corporation and its officers, association,
partnership, cooperative, trustee, executor of an estate, governmental agency or
any other legal entity recognized by law, in the singular or plural.



5.0 REGULATION

5.1

5.2

5.3

5.4

Right of Entry

A representative of the Department shall be allowed access to the premises of
an Infectious Waste Management Facility and Infectious Waste Collection
Vehicle upon providing proper identification.

Operating Permits

A Person may not operate an Infectious Waste Management Facility or an
Infectious Waste Collection Vehicle without a valid operating permit issued by
the Department.

5.2.1 Change of Ownership
Any time that an Infectious Waste Management Facility changes
ownership, the new Owner shall obtain an operating permit.

5.2.2 Renewal
Operating permits must be renewed within 30 days of expiration.

5.2.2.1 Alate fee may be assessed every 30 days.

5.2.3 Validity
An operating permit shall be valid for one calendar year.

Infectious Waste Collection Vehicle

Each Infectious Waste Collection Vehicle shall be responsible for the infectious
waste from the point of collection to the Infectious Waste Management
Facility.

5.3.1 Vehicle Requirements

5.3.1.1 The business name shall be posted or printed on the vehicle
with a minimum height of three (3) inches.

5.3.1.2 The Department issued permit shall be posted on the vehicle
in public view.

5.3.1.2.1 A Department issued permit is not transferable
between vehicles.
Enforcement

It is unlawful for any Person not to comply with this regulation and the
incorporated state statute and state administrative rules and/or to interfere with
the Department in the performance of its duties.
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54.1

5.4.2
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PENALTY

Notice of Violation.
A notice of violation may be issued for any violation of this regulation.

Follow-up Inspection.
A follow up inspection may be required for any notice issued.

Suspension or Revocation of a Permit.

An Infectious Waste Management Facility operating permit may be
suspended or revoked if the facility has violated any provisions of this
regulation.

Any Person who fails to comply with this regulation or interferes with the Department in
the performance of its duties shall be subject to the criminal and/or civil penalties set
forth in this regulation.

6.1

6.2

Criminal Penalties Pursuant to UCA Section 26A-1-123

Pursuant to UCA 26A-1-123:

6.1.1

6.1.2

6.1.3

6.1.4

any Person who is found guilty by a court having proper jurisdiction of
violating any of the provisions of this regulation; or, violating, disobeying,
or disregarding any Notice or Order issued under this regulation is guilty
of a class B misdemeanor;

any Person who is found guilty of a subsequent similar violation within
two years of the initial violation is guilty of a class A misdemeanor;

each day such violation is committed or permitted to continue shall
constitute a separate violation.

conviction under this section does not relieve the Person convicted from
civil liability.

Civil and Administrative Penalties

The éxercise of civil and administrative penalties shall be subject to the Davis
County Board of Health’s Adjudicative Hearing Procedures Regulation.

6.2.1

Any Person who violates any of the provisions of this regulation or
violates, disobeys, or disregards any Notice of Violation or Order issued
under this regulation shall be subject to:

6.2.1.1 the payment of costs incurred in the enforcement of any
violation or notice issued, including costs attributable to any
involved local agencies;



6.2.1.2  a penalty pursuant to the provisions of UCA Subsection 26-23-
6(2).

7.0 SEVERABLILITY

If any provision, clause, sentence, or paragraph of this regulation or the application or
circumstances shall be held to be invalid, such invalidity shall not affect the other
provisions or applications of this regulation. The valid part of any clause, sentence, or
paragraph of this regulation shall be given independence from the invalid provisions or
application, and to this end the provisions of this regulation are declared to be

severable.

8.0 FEES
8.1 Infectious Waste Collection Vehicle Permit: $75.00
8.2 Infectious Waste Management Facility Permit: $4,000.00

8.2.1 A surcharge of $.0025 per pound will be assessed on all infectious waste
treated in excess of 500,000 pounds in a given calendar year.

8.3  Follow up inspection fee $100.00

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Davis County Board of Health has passed, approved and adopted
this regulation this 2" day of October, 1990.

Effective date: 2"? day of October, 1990.
Revised and Amended: November 8, 2011.

Revised and Amended: February 14, 2017.

Davis County Board of Health

Signed:/MW(’ Attest:

/Dr{/éary AIExander, Br Hatch, MPH
Board Chairman Director of Health




