DAVIS COUNTY BOARD OF HEALTH

INFECTIOUS WASTE REGULATION
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1.0

2.0

3.0

PURPOSE

The purpose of this regulation is to preserve, promote and protect the public health,
safety and general welfare of the-residents and visitors inteef Davis County by
establishing sanitatiorminimumeentrolsand standards for the safe sterage -
transportation and treatment of infectious waste.

2:0—SCOPE

This regulation is applicable to all businesses-within-at-incorporated and

unincorporated areas of Davis County.

AUTHORITY AND APPLICABLE LAWS

This regulation is adopted under the authority of the Davis County Board of health-in-

accordancewith Title 26-A Chapter 121 of the Utah-Code-Health underthe authority
ofin accordance with Utah Code Annotated (UCA) Section 26A-1-121

The Davis County Board of Health hereby adopts by reference and incorporates
herein the following provisions of the UCA and the Utah Administrative Code (UAC),
subject to the additions, clarifications, exceptions, and modifications set forth in this

regulation:
UCA: The Solid and Hazardous Waste Act as set forth in Title 19-6-1021, et. seq.;- and

UCA 19-6-102 Definit]

Fheprovisions-of-the Utah-Administrative-Code{UACHUAC:

Chapter R315-301 Solid Waste Authority, Definitions, and General Requirements;
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Chapter R315-306 Incinerator Standards; and
Chapter R-315-316 Infectious Waste Requirements

4.0 DEFINITIONS




4.13

DRASIONEPARTMENT: The Davis County Health Department.




asdefinredin JEA19-6-102.4.26  INFECTIOUS WASTE COLLECTION VEHICLE: Any
vehicle, tank, trailer, or combination thereof, which provides commercial
collection, transportation, storage or disposal of infectious wastes.




41937 -INFECTIOUS WASTE MANAGEMENTIREATMENTMANAGEMENT
FACILITY LHeLudes—aﬂy—Leea%mﬂTb{Hdmg—steﬁage—ﬁaeﬁmy—eneles&Fe—

421 —INTERMENTS:—Buriakin-a-recognized-activecemeteryA facility that renders

infectious waste non-infectious through an approved treatment or disposal
method.

Any condltlon or hazard or the source thereof deleterious or detrlmental to
the health, safety, or welfare of any persenPerson or property.

413 OWNER: The Pperson or persens-Persons who have primary financial and
legal -interest in an infeetious-Infectious w\Waste mManagement £Facility.

434—4.610 PERSON:




Any individual, firm, corporation and its officers, association, partnership,
cooperative, trustee, executor of an estate, governmental agency or any
other legal entity recognized by law, in the singular or plural.

5.0 5:0—REGULATION

5.1 Right of Entry

A representative of the BivisierDepartment shall be allowed access to the

regulated-vehiclesand-premises of an ir-Infectious Waste
TreatmentManagement ManagementFacility and Infectious Waste

TFreatmentFacilityCollection Vehicle upon providing proper identification.
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5.2

Operating Permitss

A Person may not operate an Infectious Waste Management Facility-ia-the-
eounty or an Infectious Waste Collection Vehicle without a -valid operating
permit issued by the Divisierepartment.

5.2.1 Change of Ownership
Any time that an Infectious Waste Management Facility changes
ownership, the new Owner shall obtain an operating permit.

5.2.2 Renewal
Operating permits must be renewed within 30 days of expiration.

5.2.2.1 Alate fee may be assessed every 30 days.

5.2.3

Validity

——OAn operating permits shall be valid for one calendar year.







5.34 Infectious Waste Collection Vehicle
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PROLIBITIONSCColloct hicl
5441 Each Infectious Waste infeetious-Collection Vehicle waste-
transportershall be responsible for the satisfacterycollectionsand-
transportation-ofinfectious s-waste from the point of collection to the
infeetious-Infectious wWaste Managementtreatmentf Facility. infectious

532114 have£The business name shall be posted or printed on the vehicle
with a andphonenumberprinted oneachsideandthe
backofthevehiclewithlettersand-numbersat- minimum
height leastof three (3) inches.

5.3.1.2 The Department issued permit shall be posted on the
vehicle in public view.

5.3.1.2.1 A FheDepartment issued permit isare not
transferable between vehicles.
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It is unlawful for any Person not to comply with this regulatieregulation and the
incorporated state statute and state administrative rules a-erand/or to interfere

5.4.1 Notice of Violation.
A notice of violation may be issued for any violation of this regulation.

5.4.2 Follow-up Inspection.

A follow up inspection may be required for any notice issued.

5.4.3 Suspension or Revocation of a Permit.

An Infectious Waste Management Facility operating permit may be
suspended or revoked if the facility has violated any provisions of this

regulation.
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6.0

PENALTY
Any Person who fails to comply with this regulation or interferes with the
BivisienDepartment in the performance of its duties shall be subject to the criminal

and/or civil penalties set forth in this regulation.

6.1 Criminal Penalties Pursuant to UCA Section 26A-1-123

Pursuant to UCA 26A-1-123:

6.1.1 any Person who is found guilty by a court having proper jurisdiction of
violating any of the provisions of this regulation; or, violating, disobeying,

or disregarding any Notice or Order issued under this regulation is guilty
of a class B misdemeanor;

6.1.2 any Person who is found guilty of a subseguent similar violation within
two vears of the initial violation is guilty of a class A misdemeanor;

6.1.3 each day such violation is committed or permitted to continue shall
constitute a separate violation.

6.1.4 conviction under this section does not relieve the Person convicted from
civil liability.

6.2 Civil and Administrative Penalties
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7.0

8.0

The exercise of civil and administrative penalties shall be subject to the Davis
County Board of Health’s Adjudicative Hearing Procedures Regulation.

6.2.1 Any Person who violates any of the provisions of this regulation or
violates, disobeys, or disregards any Notice of Violation or Order issued
under this regulation shall be subject to:

6.2.1.1 the payment of costs incurred in the enforcement of any
violation or notice issued, including costs attributable to any
involved local agencies;

66.2.1.2 a penalty pursuant to the provisions

of UCA Subsection 26-23--6(2).

SEVERABLILITY

If any provision, clause, sentence, or paragraph of these-this regulations or the
application or circumstances shall be held to be invalid, such invalidity shall not affect
the other provisions or applications of these-this regulations. The valid part of any
clause, sentence, or paragraph of these-this regulations shall be given independence
from the invalid provisions or application, and to this end the provisions of these-this
regulations are herby-declared to be severable.

FEES

8.1 Infectious
Waste SeavengerCollection Vehicle Permit:

$75.00

8.2 Infectious
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Woaste FreatmentManagement Facilitylreirerater Permit:
$4,000.00

Q2 lnfactiouc
s o EeETOuS

Wacte Onsite G T Eacilit 375 oc

8.22.1 A surcharge of $.0025 per pound will be assessed on all infectious waste
treated in excess of 500,000 pounds in a given calendar year.

8.3 Follow up inspection fee $100.00

8.4 Late fee assessment
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IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Davis County Board of Health has passed, approved and adopted

this regulation this 2" day of October, 1990.
Effective date: 2" day of October, 1990.
Revised and Amended: November 8, 2011

Revised and Amended: November , 2016

Davis County Board of Health

Signed:

Attest:

—BenTannerScott Zigich,

Lewis—GarrettBrian Hatch, MPH

Board Chairman

Director of Health
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