The Farmland Assessment Act: Davis County

The Farmland Assessment Act (FAA, also called the Greenbelt Act) allows qualifying agricultural property to be assessed and taxed based upon its productive capability instead of the prevailing market value.

This unique method of assessment is vital to agriculture operations in close proximity to expanding urban areas, where taxing agricultural property at market value could make farming operations economically prohibitive.

Mary Allen
Greenbelt Specialist
Office: 801-451-3592
Fax: 801-451-3134

Greenbelt - FAQ

Productive values are established by the Utah State Tax Commission with the assistance of a five-member Farmland Assessment Advisory Committee and Utah State University. Productive values apply county-wide and are based upon income and expense factors associated with agriculture activities. These factors are expressed in terms of value per acre for specific land classifications.
Land is classified according to its capability of producing crops or forage. Capability is dependent upon soil type, topography, availability of irrigation water, growing season, and other factors. The County Assessor classifies all agricultural land in the county based on SCS Soil Surveys and guidelines provided by the Tax Commission. The general classifications of agricultural land are irrigated, dry land, grazing land, orchard, and meadow. If you disagree with your land classification, you can appeal to your county board of equalization for reclassification.
Private farmland can quality for assessment and taxation under the Farmland Assessment Act if the land:
  • is at least five contiguous acres in area. Land less than five acres may qualify where devoted to agricultural use in conjunction with other eligible acreage under identical legal ownership. Land used in connection with the farmhouse, such as landscaping, etc. cannot be included in the acreage for FAA eligibility,
  • is actively devoted to agricultural use, and the operation is managed in such a way that there is a reasonable expectation of profit;
  • has been devoted to agricultural use for at least two successive years immediately preceding the tax year in which application is made; and
  • meets average annual (per acre) production requirements.
To qualify for the Farmland Assessment Act land must produce in excess of 50 percent of the average agricultural production per acre for the given type of land and the given county or area. To determine production levels the County Assessor will use the following sources: the most recent publication of Utah Agricultural Statistics; crop and enterprise budgets published by Utah State University; or standards established by the Tax Commission. 



  • A farmer grows alfalfa. The average annual production of alfalfa in his area is four tons per acre per year. To qualify he must produce more than two tons per acre per year.
  • A rancher has 10 acres of irrigated pasture which would reasonably carry 10 cows or 50 sheep through the grazing season. To qualify he will need to graze more than five heads of cattle or 25 sheep.
The acreage requirement may be waived if the owner can show that 80 percent or more or the owner's, purchaser's, or lessees' income is derived from agricultural products produced on the land.

The production requirement will be waived if the land is involved in a bonafide range improvement program, crop rotation program, or other similarly accepted agricultural practice which does not give reasonable opportunity to satisfy the production level requirement.
New applications for assessment and taxation under the Utah Farmland Assessment Act must Be filed by May 1. Application necessary because of ownership change, legal description change, assessor request, etc., can be filed anytime.
An application for assessment and taxation of agricultural land under the FAA can be obtained from your County Assessor. This application should be completed and returned to the County Assessor before May 1, of the year in which the preferential assessment is wanted. Supporting documentation may be required such as federal tax returns, affidavits, lease agreements, sales receipts, production records, etc. which shows the production requirement has been met for the preceding two years.
Any owner of agricultural land may apply for assessment and taxation under the Farmland Assessment Act.
Leased land can qualify for assessment and taxation under the FAA if the acreage requirement is met and the production requirement is satisfied. A purchaser or lessee may qualify the land by submitting, along with the application from the owner, documents certifying that the production levels have been satisfied.
When land becomes ineligible for farmland assessment (such as when it is developed or goes into non-use), the owner becomes subject to what is known as a rollback tax. The rollback tax is the difference between the taxes paid while on greenbelt and the taxes which would have been paid had the property been assessed at market value. In determining the amount of rollback tax due, a maximum of five years in question will be applied to determine the tax amount. 


To apply for Greenbelt, please fill out form below or print this Greenbelt Application and mail it to: 

Davis County Assessor's Office
Attn: Greenbelt
PO BOX 618
Farmington, UT 84025
*The Online Greenbelt Application form is temporarily unavailable. Please download & print the application from the link above. Thank you.
The following chart shows the taxable value per acre. The different land categories are: Irrigated lands, Orchard lands, Meadow, Dry farm lands, Grazing lands, and Non-productive lands.

Land Categories201420152016  20172018 
Irrigated Lands (I1)870835 839853  840
Irrigated Lands (I2)764734738  751 708
Irrigated Lands (I3)615590 593 603 569
Irrigated Lands (I4)514 494  496 504 475
Orchard Lands (O1)627658 656 670 676
Orchard Lands (O2)627658 656 670 676
Orchard Lands (O3)627658 656 670 676
Orchard Lands (O4)627658 656 670 676
Meadow274263 264 268 253
Dry Farm Lands (D3)5250 51 52 49
Dry Farm Lands (D4)1616 16 16 15
Grazing Lands (G1)6160 60 61 58
Grazing Lands (G2)2019 19 19 18
Grazing Lands (G3)1312 12 13 12
Grazing Lands (G4)55 5 55
Non-Productive Lands (N)55

 5 5 5

For more information about Taxable Value Per Acre click here.
For a rollback, please fill out the Rollback Request form and send it to:

Davis County Assessor's Office
Attn: Greenbelt
PO BOX 618
Farmington, UT 84025

Contact Us

Contact Information

Physical Address
Davis County Admin Building
Assessor's Office (Room 302)
61 South Main Street
Farmington, Utah 84025

Mailing Address
Davis County Assessor's Office
P.O. Box 618
Farmington, Utah 84025

Phone Numbers
(801) 451-3250 :: Real Property
(801) 451-3249 :: Personal Property
(801) 451-3134 :: Fax

Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (except county holidays)

Copyright © 2015 Davis County Government