Fee Schedules

fees

Utah State Statute allows for the Sheriff's Office to receive fees for process services. The amounts are governed by code 17-22-2.5, UCA. The amount charged is determined by the type of process plus mileage. There are deposits required for certain types of services. Refunds are issued if service is not completed or the deposit is more than required once service is rendered.  For exact amounts contact the Civil Section at (801) 451-4103.


General Service Fees
Includes the service of:

  • Garnishment
  • Order
  • Other process by which an action is commenced
  • Subpoena
  • Summons
  • Summons with Complaint or Verified Petition 

Service of Writs, Orders, Attachments & Executions
Includes the service of:

  • Writ of Assistance
  • Writ of Execution
  • Writ of Possession
  • Writ of Replevin
  • Writ of Restitution
Above service fees are $50.00 plus mileage (refer to mileage fees below)

Mileage Fees
Includes the service of:

  • Miles traveled one way for service (calculated from courthouse)
  • Miles traveled one way for service for two additional attempts (calculated from courthouse)
  • Miles traveled to transport a Civil Prisoner from place of arrest to the jail
Mileage fees are $2.50 per mile

Miscellaneous Process and Maintenance Fees
Includes the service of:

  • Notary Fees $5.00
  • Copies demanded or required by law $0.50/page
  • Recording affecting real estate $10.00
    (Recorder fee to be added) 
Commissions
Commissions are 2% for amounts less than $1,000. Any amount over $1,000 is 1.5%. 

Deposit is required on all papers served by the Davis County Sheriff's Office
This includes:

Real Estate: Executions $500.00
Real Estate: Order of Sale $300.00
Real Estate: Attachment $200.00
Personal Property: Executions $250.00
Personal Property: Order of Sale $225.00

Writs of Execution, praecipe must have a full detailed description, type of item, serial number, etc of the property to be seized; if the vehicle is to be seized we must have a VIN and plate number, if possible, etc.  When seizing vehicles or large items you must provide a name of a certified towing company or moving company. You will be responsible for any charges that you may incur.  Our fees for writ of execution are the following:

Real Property:  $500 deposit
Personal Property:  $250 deposit

Any questions please contact the Civil Section at 801-451-4103.

Prisoner Handling Fees
Cases involving a person booked in jail on Civil Bench Warrants require special fees be paid to house the prisoner in addition to the routine process and mileage fees 17-22-10, UCA. The housing fees are calculated on the current cost to house a prisoner for three days.

These fees must be paid with a bank draft or cashier’s check made payable to the Davis County Sheriff's Office. No personal checks or money orders are accepted. It must be separate from the fees charged for processing, so it can be delivered with the prisoner to the jail.  Jail housing fees are subject to costs. Contact the Civil Section 801-451-4103 to calculate current fee.

Fees for delivering an insane person to the Utah State Hospital, when the cost of delivery is payable by private individuals, the Sheriff may charge the actual and necessary cost of any required assistance, 17-22-2.5 (5) (b), UCA in addition to the mileage.

FEE SCHEDULE

SECTION 17-22-2.5, UTAH CODE ANNOTATED 1953: THE SHERIFF SHALL RECEIVE THE FOLLOWING FEES. EFFECTIVE MAY 2010

Advertising property for sale on execution, or any judgment, or order of sale exclusive of the cost of publication $15.00
Affidavit, Small Claims $20.00
Arrest, Civil order $50.00
Assistance, Writ of $50.00
Attachment, Writ of $50.00
Bond, undertaking, taking or approving $5.00
Cancellation of Sale, Real or Personal Property $15.00
Certificate of Redemption $15.00
Certificate of sale $10.00
Commission 2% on first $1,000, 1-1/2 % on Balance Minimum
$1.00
Conducting Sale, Real or Personal Property $15.00
Copies of any Writ, process or other paper, when-demanded or required by law, for each folio (each page) $.50
Deeds, Sheriff's $15.00
Eviction, Writ of $50.00
Execution, Writ of $50.00
Expenses for delivery of insane person to Utah State Hospital per mile from court house to hospital. Actual and necessary costs for assistance shall be added $1.50
Garnishment $20.00
Garnishee Execution $20.00
Juror, Summon in $20.00
Keepers fee per day. Amount court orders to maximum of $15.00
Mileage $2.50 per mile (going only) $2.50
Mileage (extra) (if not served on first attempt and no more than two additional) (going only) $2.50
Notices of Sale Personal Property (Minimum 4 postings @ $15.00 ea.) $60.00
Notices of Sale Real Property (Minimum 5 postings @ $15.00 ea) $75.00
Notar fee (46.1.12) (UCA) $5.00
Notices, served $20.00
Orders $20.00
Order for Deliver of Personal Property $50.00
Possession, Writ of $50.00
Postponin Sale, Real or Personal Property $15.00
Recordings – Recorder fee to be added $10.00
Replevin, Writ of $50.00
Rule, served $20.00
Restitution, Writ of $50.00
Subpoena $20.00
Summons & Complaint $20.00
Trustee Sale (plus $2.50 per mile) $20.00
Trial of right of property $35.00
Civil prisoner – Jail to Court/Magistrates (going only) or point of Arrest to court/magistrates (each mile traveled)$2.50

THE FOLLOWING DEPOSITS ARE REQUIRED BY THE DAVIS COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE ON ORDER OF SALES, AND EXECUTIONS.

Real Estate
EXECUTION    $500.00
ORDER OF SALE $300.00
ATTACHMENT $100.00
Personal Property
EXECUTION $250.00
ORDER OF SALE $100.00


The fees for service of civil process must be paid in advance, including the fees for 3 round trips to the city being served.

"SERVICE WILL NOT BE PERFORMED UNLESS THE FEES PRESCRIBED FOR THAT SERVICE ARE PAID IN ADVANCE." 63-38-3.3  Utah Code Annotated

Make Checks payable to the "DAVIS COUNTY SHERIFF".


General Service Fees:
Garnishment, Order to Show Cause, Subpoena, Summons, Summons and Complaint/Petition, Motion & Order, Small Claims

OUT OF STATE PAPERS, ADD $5.00, FOR NOTARY FEE
CITY PAPER FEE MILEAGE TOTAL COST
BOUNTIFUL $20 $75.00 $95.00
CENTERVILLE $20 $52.50 $72.50
CLEARFIELD $20 $97.50 $117.50
CLINTON $20 $127.50 $147.50
FARMINGTON $20 $22.50 $42.50
FRUIT HEIGHTS $20 $52.50 $72.50
HILL AFB $20 $127.50 $147.50
HOOPER $20 $150.00 $170.00
KAYSVILLE $20 $52.50 $72.50
LAYTON $20 $82.50 $102.50
NORTH SALT LAKE $20 $105.00 $125.00
SOUTH WEBER $20 $127.50 $147.50
SUNSET $20 $112.50 $132.50
SYRACUSE $20 $112.50 $132.50
WEST BOUNTIFUL $20 $75.00 $95.00
WEST POINT $20 $127.50 $147.50
WOODS CROSS $20 $105.00 $125.00

Service for the following: Writ/Order of Restitution, Writ of Replevin, Attachment, Assistance, Bench Warrants

OUT OF STATE PAPERS, ADD $5.00, FOR NOTARY FEE

CITY PAPER FEE MILEAGE TOTAL COST
BOUNTIFUL $50 $75.00 $125.00
CENTERVILLE $50 $52.50 $102.50
CLEARFIELD $50 $97.50 $147.50
CLINTON $50 $127.50 $177.50
FARMINGTON $50 $22.50 $72.50
FRUIT HEIGHTS $50 $52.50 $102.50
HILL AFB $50 $127.50 $177.50
HOOPER $50 $150.00 $200.00
KAYSVILLE $50 $52.50 $102.50
LAYTON $50 $82.50 $132.50
NORTH SALT LAKE $50 $105.00 $155.00
SOUTH WEBER $50 $127.50 $177.50
SUNSET $50 $112.50 $162.50
SYRACUSE $50 $112.50 $162.50
WEST BOUNTIFUL $50 $75.00 $125.00
WEST POINT $50 $127.50 $177.50
WOODS CROSS $50 $105.00 $155.00

For Writ of Execution: Contact the Davis County Sheriff's Office at 801-451-4103

Real Property    $500 deposit
Personal Property $250 deposit

CIVIL BENCH WARRANTS: Cases involving a person booked in jail on Civil Bench Warrants require special fees be paid to house the prisoner in addition to the routine process and mileage fees, (17-22-10-UCA). The housing fee is calculated on the current cost to house a prisoner for three days. Jail housing fees are subject to costs. Cost will be $150 in advance.

Effective 5-11-2010

Executive Administration

Sheriff
   Todd Richardson

Undersheriff
   Brent E. Peters

Chief Deputy
   Kevin P. Fielding​

Division Administration

Commander
Captain Arnold Butcher

Court Services, Civil Process Service
Lieutenant Maureen Benson

Investigations, Crime Lab
Lieutenant David Bremer

Contact Information

Physical Address
800 West State Street
Farmington, Utah 84025

Mailing Address
P.O. Box 618
Farmington, Utah 84025-0618

Jail/Inmate Mailing Address
P.O. Box 130
Farmington, Utah 84025-0130

Work Center Physical Address
883 W. Clark Lane
Farmington, Utah

Phone Numbers
Sheriff Administration
(801) 451-4100 :: Main
(801) 451-4167 :: Fax

Jail Administration
(801) 451-4200 :: Main
(801) 451-4266 :: Fax

Hours
Monday – Friday
7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
(except legal holidays)

Email
sheriff@daviscountyutah.gov

Copyright © 2015 Davis County Government