This program is for individuals who are Blind and seeking tax relief on real property. Blind is defined in Section 59-2-1106(3) of Utah Code as:
(a) the person has more than 20/200 visual acuity in the better eye when corrected; or
(b) has in the case of better than 20/200 central vision, a restriction of the field of vision in the better eye which subtends an angle of vision no greater than 20 degrees
If you have already qualified for the Blind Abatement in 2018 the 2019 Blind Application will be mailed as of January 1, 2019. Please review and return the form by September 1, 2019.If filing for the first time please see information below:
In Order to qualify for the Blind Abatement the applicant must be the owner
of the home as of January 1 of current year. This home must be the "primary residence
". The applicant must also furnish a letter from a Certified Ophthalmologist
stating that the applicant is legally blind as defined by State Code 59-2-1106 a long with a completed application.
The Blind Tax Abatement can reduce property taxes by up to $11,500 in a taxable value or approximately $150.00. The abatement will be applied to 2019's property taxes. If the application is received by June 30, 2019 the abatement will appear on the Valuation Notice that is mailed by July 22 of current year. Filing period:
January 1, 2019 - DEADLINE:
The law requires applications for all abatement's to be submitted on or before September 1, 2019
. The filing deadline may be extended until December 31, 2019 (if good cause exists). Which means: in order to accept a late application after September 1, 2019 there must be an explanation of why the application is being submitted late.
To request a Blind Abatement application:
Call Tax Administration at 801-451-3367
or write to us at:Davis County Clerk/Auditor
P.O. Box 618, Suite 101
Farmington, Utah 84025
* For more information regarding rules and requirements please visit the Utah State Code 59-2-1106 and/or the Utah State Tax Commission's Standards of Practice
under Tax Relief.