• 22 S. State St. Clearfield, UT 84015
  • Main : (801) 525-5000
  • M-F 8am to 5pm


Davis County Health Department’s Environmental Health Services Division is responsible for the enforcement of the Davis County Drinking Water Fluoride Regulation

Contact Information

Physical Address
22 South State Street
2nd Floor
Clearfield, Utah 84015

Mailing Address
Davis County Health Department
Environmental Health Services Division
P.O. Box 618
Farmington, Utah 84025

Phone Numbers
(801) 525-5100 :: Main
(801) 525-5119 :: Fax

Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (except county holidays)

Davis County Health Department’s Environmental Health Services Division is responsible for the enforcement of the Davis County Drinking Water Fluoride Regulation. It requires the submission of reports by city and district water systems adding fluoride to the water supplies. It also provides for fluoride surveillance in the county including the taking of distribution samples for fluoride analysis and periodic sanitary surveys of equipment and operations. 
Girl Drinking Water

What is drinking water fluoridation?

Water fluoridation is the deliberate upward adjustment of the natural trace fluoride compounds found in water using medical and scientific guidelines for the purpose of promoting public health through the prevention of tooth decay.

Why do they add fluoride to the water?

The decision to fluoridate a water supply is made by the county, local municipality, or special service district, and is not mandated by EPA or any other Federal entity.  Here in Davis County a vote was cast to have fluoride added by law.  Only Woods Cross voted against it.

  • The EPA maximum contaminate level (MCL) is 4.0 ppm.
  • Davis County regulation for fluoride levels in drinking water are 0.6 ppm to 0.8 ppm with a target of 0.7 ppm.

What are fluoride's negative health effects?

Exposure to excessive consumption of fluoride over a lifetime may lead to increased likelihood of bone fractures in adults, and may result in effects on bone leading to pain and tenderness. Children aged 8 years and younger exposed to excessive amounts of fluoride have an increased chance of developing pits in the tooth enamel, along with a range of cosmetic effects to teeth.

What is excessive consumption?

Drinking 2 liters of water per day with 10 mg/L (ppm) fluoride.

How can I test the fluoride in my home?

The Davis County Environmental Health Laboratory can test fluoride levels in your drinking water.

Can the health department do anything to stop them from adding fluoride?

If certain laws are not followed (HB72), a health department can order temporary suspension of water fluoridation.  Every public water system in Davis County is tested monthly for compliance.

How much is it costing me?

It is estimated to cost from $0.50 to $3.00 per person per year.

  • According to the American Dental Association, every $1.00 invested in water fluoridation saves $38.00 in dental treatment costs.

Copyright © Davis County Government. All Rights Reserved

New Year's Day

Wednesday, Jan 01

Martin Luther King Jr. Birthday

Monday, Jan 20

President's Day

Monday, Feb 17

Memorial Day

Monday, May 25

Independence Day (Observed)

Friday, Jul 03

Pioneer Day

Friday, Jul 24

Labor Day

Monday, Sep 07

Veterans' Day

Wednesday, Nov 11


Thursday, Nov 26 & Friday, Nov 27

Christmas Eve

Thursday, Dec 24

Christmas Day

Friday, Dec 25

New Years Eve (Close at 12:00pm)

Thursday, Dec 31